Show Map
Ministry for the Environment logo


  • Added 11 Jan 2016
  • Updated 03 Jul 2018

The 15 class Benthic-Optimised Marine Environment Classification (BOMEC). The BOMEC divides the benthic environment into ecosystem types. These are grouped into three inshore groups, three continental shelf groups, and nine deeper-water groups. Each group represents areas with similar environmental variables, such as depth, temperature, salinity, and suspended sediment. The classification system considers the distributions of eight benthic taxonomic groups: asteroids, bryozoans, benthic foraminiferans, octocorals, polychaetes, matrix-forming scleratinian corals, sponges, and benthic fish.


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.


1. BOMEC marine environments, 2012 185 KB pdf


TagsNew Zealand, ECOLOGY, MARINE, MARINE-Biology, Environment Aotearoa 2015
RegionsNew Zealand
MetadataISO 19115/19139, Dublin Core

Technical Details

Layer ID 52748
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 15
Attributes ID, GRIDCODE, SQKM, Shape_Length
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed


Added11 Jan 2016
Last updated3 Jul 2018
Revisions 5 - Browse all revisions
Current revision Imported on July 3, 2018 in WGS 84 / Mercator 41. 15 geometries modified to be OGC compliant. Changelog.
Show Map