Show Map
NationalMap logo


  • Added 10 Apr 2017
  • Updated 08 Apr 2020

A subset of the NationalMap dataset consisting of Territorial Authority Administrative Boundaries. These are the second largest administration units after Regional Council areas.

Multiple TAs can occur within one Regional council area, and each TA will include multiple area units, meshblocks and postcodes. For Unitary Authorities the seaward boundary is the outer limits of the territorial sea of New Zealand (12 mile limit).

A territorial authority is defined under the Local Government Act 2002 as a city council or district council.

Territorial authorities are defined at meshblock and area unit level. The Territorial Authority boundaries and classification are released annually on the 1st of January, and on occasion mid year, but there are not always changes from the previous classification.


Creative Commons Attribution-No Derivative Works 3.0 New Zealand

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.

You must not release derivatives of this work.


TagsAdministrative boundaries, New-Zealand, TAs, Territorial Authorities, Territorial Authority, Utility and governmental services
RegionsNew Zealand
MetadataISO 19115/19139, Dublin Core

Technical Details

Layer ID 36607
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 66
Primary key CODE
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS)


Added10 Apr 2017
Last updated8 Apr 2020
Revisions 6 - Browse all revisions
Current revision Imported on April 8, 2020 in NZGD2000 / New Zealand Transverse Mercator 2000.
Show Map