Show Map
Stats NZ logo

Territorial Authority 2017 (generalised version)

  • Added 09 Feb 2017
  • Updated 22 Nov 2018

This dataset is the definitive set of territorial authority boundaries for 2017 as defined by the Local Government Commission and/or the territorial authorities themselves but maintained by Statistics New Zealand (the custodian). A territorial authority is defined under the Local Government Act 2002 as a city or a district council.

Territorial authorities are the second tier of local government in New Zealand, below regional councils. The 67 territorial authorities comprise 13 city councils including the Auckland council, 53 district councils, and the Chatham Islands Territory.


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand

You may use this work for commercial purposes.

You must attribute the creator in your own works.


1. ANZLIC Metadata 2017 Territorial Authority 499 KB pdf


TagsTA, Territorial Authority
RegionsNew Zealand
MetadataISO 19115/19139, Dublin Core

Technical Details

Layer ID 27778
Data type Vector multipolygon
Feature count 68
Attributes TA2017, TA2017_NAME, AREA_SQ_KM, LAND_AREA_SQ_KM, Shape_Length
Services Vector Query API, Web Feature Service (WFS), Catalog Service (CS-W), Atom Feed


Added9 Feb 2017
Revisions 7 - Browse all revisions
Current revision Imported on Feb. 9, 2017 in NZGD2000 / New Zealand Transverse Mercator 2000.
Show Map