Show Map

NZ Regional Councils (2012 Yearly Pattern)

Statistics New Zealand
  • Added 18 May 2012

This dataset is the definitive set of regional council boundaries for 2012 as defined by the Local Government Commission and/or the territorial authorities themselves but maintained by Statistics New Zealand (who are the custodian).

The region is the top tier of local government in New Zealand. There are 16 regions of New Zealand (Part 1 of Schedule 2 of the Local Government Act 2002). Eleven are governed by an elected regional council, while five are governed by territorial authorities (the second tier of local government) who also perform the functions of a regional council and thus are known as unitary authorities. These unitary authorities are Auckland Council, Nelson City Council, Gisborne, Tasman, and Marlborough District Councils. The Chatham Islands Council also perform some of the functions of a regional council, but is not strictly a unitary authority. Unitary authorities act as regional councils for the purposes of a wide range of Acts and regulations. Regional council areas are based on water catchment areas. Regional councils are responsible for the administration of many environmental and public transport matters.


1. ANZLIC Metadata 2012 Regional 106 KB pdf


CategoryBoundaries & Administration
RegionsNew Zealand
MetadataISO 19115/19139, Dublin Core

Technical Details

Layer ID 4240
Data type Vector polygon
Feature count 17
Attributes REGC12, NAME
Services Vector Query API


Added18 May 2012
Revisions 1 - Browse all revisions
Current revision Imported on May 18, 2012 from Shapefile in NZGD2000 / New Zealand Transverse Mercator 2000.
Show Map